Washington DC – On the 26th March, 2018, Permanent Representative of The Bahamas to the OAS, H. E. Sidney Collie, signed an amendment to the Memorandum of Understanding between the General Secretariat of the Organization of American States (OAS) and the Government of The Bahamas for the OAS -Government of The Commonwealth of The Bahamas Scholarship Programme to expand scholarship offerings to up to 40 Bahamians in 2018, on behalf of the Minister of Education, the Hon. Jeffrey Lloyd.

In remarks at the signing, Permanent Representative Collie underscored that “The Bahamas Government is acutely aware that our country’s greatest asset is our people and that access to higher education is a precursor to developing the kind of society that we want; therefore, we will continue to look for opportunities to invest in Bahamians such as in the case with this OAS-Bahamas scholarship.”

He further noted that the OAS-Bahamas Scholarship was “an excellent example of a multi-party partnership”. The Scholarship is comprised of a grant from The Bahamas Ministry of Education, a stipend from the OAS and a tuition concession from some members of the OAS Consortium of Universities, all adding up to a more comprehensive scholarship offering for the Bahamian student. In 2018, there will be 13 partner universities from across the United States and Canada.

The OAS-Government of The Bahamas Scholarship was launched in 2017 and was then offered to 25 Bahamian students to attend 9 partner Universities in North America. The catalyst for the Scholarship was a mandate to seek out counterpart resources to maximize existing Government funding allocated for Bahamian scholarships through the trilateral partnership model and to deepen cooperation with the OAS on education, given its importance to sustainable development.

The deadline for application to the 2018 Scholarship is April 30th, 2018.

The link for the call for the scholarship is here:


Bahamas OAS Scholarship

Caption 1 – Permanent Representative Sidney Collie speaks at signing ceremony for the agreement to expand the offerings of the OAS-Bahamas Scholarship. From left to right, Dr. Maryse Robert – Acting Director of Education in the OAS Secretariat; Mrs. Kim Osborne – Executive Secretary for Integral Development in the OAS Secretariat; Mr. Sidney Collie – Permanent Representative of The Bahamas to the OAS and Mr. Mikhail Bullard – Alternate Representative of The Bahamas to the OAS.


Bahamas OAS Scholarship 2

Caption 2 – Permanent Representative Collie signs agreement to expand the offerings of the OAS-Bahamas Scholarship with Mrs. Kim Osborne, Executive Secretary for Integral Development in the OAS Secretariat.

Photos courtesy of the OAS.